St. Dominic Students Win Youth and Government Honors

A group of 17 St. Dominic High School students recently joined more than 1,000 fellow high school students in Jefferson City to participate in the 2017 Youth and Government state convention. Students took on roles representing various aspects of Missouri government, including legislative, judicial and media.

Members of St. Dominic's delegation attained a number of honors, including:

  • Alex Johnson served as a wing judge in the Judicial Program, becoming the first-ever St. Dominic student to serve in a leadership position.
  • Abbey Jennings won the Judicial Program final case, as well the “Best Newcomer Attorney” award.
  • Teresa Enloe and Kaitlyn Bross won the Video News Program's "Best Hard News Story" award.
  • Kailee Queener, Abby Liszewski and Katie Eck won the Video News Program's "Best Feature Story" award.
  • Ethan Heckart authored and represented a bill on net neutrality that was passed in the Novice House.

Other highlights included:

  • Laura Gray and Kaylie Meyer authored a bill in the House to form a mandatory family consumer science class for all Missouri seniors.
  • Emma Story and Jenika Hazelbaker authored a bill in the House on free speech and kneeling during the National Anthem.
  • Hannah Johnson represented a bill in the House on gun control.
  • Andrew Faucher authored a bill in the Senate on cyber bullying.
  • Svetlana Wunnenberg worked with Abbey Jennings and Alex Johnson as an attorney team to try a case on kneeling during the National Anthem.
  • Emma Busken and Maura Moody participated in the print press program, writing stories covering students running for offices in 2018, among other topics.

Youth and Government is a YMCA-sponsored student-driven simulation of state government. Missouri's Youth and Government was established in 1949, and the program is offered in 40 states nationwide.